Cam and Mitch for Halloween

So the reason for the beard (click here to read my column about it) was Halloween and a costume idea Jonathan Owens and I came up with. We decided a month back to go as Cam and Mitch, the gay couple from ABC’s hit show “Modern Family.” Jon and I aren’t gay (not that there’s anything wrong with it), but we’re huge fans of the show and, in particular, these two guys. It doesn’t hurt that Jon bears a resemblance to Cameron.

Mitch, on the other hand … the only thing I have in common with him is height and a wiry frame. Therefore, I had to attempt Mitch’s trademark beard to really pull the costume off. So for the first time in my life, I attempted a beard, and what you see in the photo is three weeks worth of growth. (I know, sad, right?).

Our costume wasn’t unique (see below), but it did get us a little national attention. We were featured as a “pop culture” costume on USA Today’s Pop Candy (CLICK HERE, we’re in the middle), and it was brought to my attention that Jesse Tyler Ferguson, who plays Mitch on Modern Family, Tweeted our picture on his Twitter account today.

And we weren’t the only ones to don this costume, but I thought ours was best since I put in three weeks for the beard, Jon looks like Cameron and we were both able to match their outfits without spending a dime (yes, I have this sweater in my closet). PLUS, we were the only ones with a real baby (that’s my daughter Hayley dressed as Dorothy from Wizard of Oz).

Leave a Reply

