Newsy

No matter how good you think your newspaper is, you’re going to get complaints. It’s just part of the package.
Now, I wasn’t in the office when a man came by to lodge a complaint yesterday, but it was relayed to me that we don’t print enough local news, our newspaper “only has five pages” and we don’t cover fishing enough.
I have no answer for the latter two statements, but I will argue the “local news” claim. For a staff with currently two full-time writers, two editors, a photographer and two in the sports department, we do a more-than-respectable job in making The Sanford Herald a local paper.
I’m not writing this to pat myself on the back, but to thank my newsroom for today’s edition — good mix of news and enterprise, solid photos … and 60-70 percent of our A-section (10 pages) was local this week. Above is today’s front page.
I take all complaints seriously, but I do feel at times I have a good case to make.
I’d love to know what you think.

2 thoughts on “Newsy

  1. Y’all should write somethin’ ’bout the Raleigh Fishin’ Club trip to Lil’ Washin’-ton. They got some great pics of some crappies & stripers.

Leave a Reply

