I wanna run in 2009

Not for office (maybe), but the leg-working kind.
(From Sunday’s column):

I don’t remember what my resolution for 2008 was. Come to think of it, 2007’s “promise” is a blur, too.
In fact, I don’t remember many of my New Year’s resolutions, because it’s never been something I’ve taken seriously.
But 2009 is different. I know, I know … 2009 is going to be “different” for a lot of us, but this year, I’ve picked a resolution that is both attainable and good for me.
I’m going to start and finish a 5K.
That’s 3.1 miles of running. Something I’m not necessarily looking forward to, but something I feel I need to do nonetheless.
You see, I’m 32 and while I still feel “young” and am relatively healthy, I’m plain out of shape. Not a “sloth” by any means, but just the other day, I tried to wheel a trash can up a steep incline, and it took me 10 minutes just to catch my breath. And my legs are still sore.
It wasn’t always like this.
Not to brag, but in high school, I was quite the runner. What I lacked in size, I made up for in speed. And in track, I was the unlucky guy who got picked to run the two mile.

CLICK HERE FOR FULL COLUMN

and check back with me to see how this resolution shapes out.

One thought on “I wanna run in 2009

  1. I have the same resolution I even started the week before the new year. Search couch to 5K online to find a plan to post on your fridge, it is keeping me motivated. Good Luck! Tell Jen I said hello.

Leave a Reply

