Least favorite Christmas songs

If you listened to The Rant this week, you heard me talk about my five least favorite Christmas songs of all time.
Well, here they are … in no particular order. Let me know if you agree.

5) Most Wonderful Time of the Year by Andy Williams

So why do I hate this one? It’s just very, very annoying to me. From the background “ding dongs” … to Andy’s smarmy delivery, it just crawls under my skin. I also don’t understand the line, “Their will be tales of the glory and scary ghost stories of Christmases long long ago …” … I’ve never associated Christmas with ghost stories.

4) Santa Baby by Eartha Kitt

I dislike the song as a whole, and Eartha Kitt’s version is the one you hear most of the time. The video above is Carmen Electra and the Pussycat Dolls performing it … makes me hate it even more.

3) Do they know it’s Christmas? by everybody

Now, typically, I’d love a Boy George calloboration with other 80s artists. Especially with Duran Duran and Sting. About the only good part of this is Bono’s line … and his wonderful, wonderful mullet.

2) Last Christmas by George Michael (Wham!)

Why was this ever popular? And why is George Michael singing to a woman? I need answers.

1) A Wonderful Christmas Time by Paul McCartney

We joked on the show that this song was performed on a spaceship in the far-distant future. Even without the bleeps and bloops, this is just a really bad song. But, you know what, many people have made bad Christmas songs. It’s our world’s fault for making this a “classic” simply because a Beatle made it.
Well, I am against it.

12 thoughts on “Least favorite Christmas songs

  1. I am sorry, but I can not help but be partial to the 80s songs. I must ask however, why oh why was Mariah Carey not on your list?

  2. Oh, and by the way, my ears bleed when I hear #1. Single worst Christmas song ever. Maybe the single worst song in any classification ever?

    Kim – I would listen to Porky 24 hours a day from today through the end of January before I listened to McCartney’s Christmas song just once.

  3. I definitely agree with #1, You know nothing says Christmas like telling the kiddies waiting for Santa the story of the man with the hook for a hand.

  4. Re: Lesley Varner

    I’m sorry, I kinda like Mariah Carey’s “All I want for Christmas is You …” so I have to disagree with you there.

    And yes, Joe Jon, it be snowing on my blog.

  5. I would have to put “Jingle Bell Rock” on any list of mine – I’ve just heard it too many times.

    Also, “Feliz Navidad” by Jose Feliciano because it repeats the same 3 lines over and over and over and over.

  6. I agree with your choices!
    Billy and Eric, what about “A Christmas Carol in Prose, Being a Ghost Story of Christmas” by Charles Dickens? Not Santa with a hook but ghosts with chains…Tiny Tim….A Christmas Classic with a message. Bah Humbug!

  7. Pingback: Getting in the holiday spirit « Erin Zureick

Leave a Reply

