NFL Picks: Week 8

BILLY: What to do when your favorite team in the world is the team the media says is “in shambles?”
You go into denial.
Because of our vacation last weekend, I missed Dallas’ loss to the Rams. I still haven’t seen highlights of it. It’s the first Cowboys game I’ve completely missed (no radio, no updates) in years.
So, you know what? I’m pretending it didn’t happen.
That’s right … if I didn’t see it, it didn’t happen.
It really makes me feel pretty good. And with Romo still out vs. Tampa, I realize it can get worse. But Tampa isn’t a high-scoring team. Dallas will NOT be blown out this week.
If it happens … well, there’s always denial.

RECORDS
Overall

Billy: 62-40
Jennifer: 61-41
Bill (vs. the line): 51-51

This Week:

ATLANTA at PHILADELPHIA
LINE: Eagles by 8.5
BILLY: Philly fans have other things to worry about than the mediocre Eagles (Phillies in the WS) … but if the Eagles lose this one, they’ll find something to gripe about. Eagles 24, Falcons 21
JENNIFER: EAGLES

KANSAS CITY at NY JETS
LINE: Jets by 13.5
BILLY: I’m in a suicide league where 2,000 people put in $10 and pick one game a week. If only one person goes the whole year by picking the right game each week, he/she comes away with $20,000. (It’s not illegal gambling since the “house” doesn’t take home a profit). Right now, there are only 170 people left, and I’m one of them. This is my suicide pick this week. Pray for me (unless the whole gambling thing is a problem). Jets 33, Chiefs 14
JENNIFER: Go Jets! Go Jets! Go Jets! JETS

ST. LOUIS at NEW ENGLAND
LINE: Patriots by 7
BILLY: The Rams can’t make it three in a row over potential playoff teams, can they? CAN THEY? I say yes. Why not. Rams 27, Patriots 24
JENNIFER: PATRIOTS

BUFFALO at MIAMI
LINE: Bills by 1
BILLY: Tough pick here. I say Miami pulls off the minor upset at home. I may change my mind though. Or I may not. Who cares? Dolphins 20, Bills 17
JENNIFER: BILLS

OAKLAND at BALTIMORE
LINE: Ravens by 7
BILLY: Oakland confuses me. So does Baltimore. I’m using a dartboard for this pick. Ravens 19, Raiders 4 (yes, 4)
JENNIFER: RAVENS

WASHINGTON at DETROIT
LINE: Redskins by 7.5
BILLY: Again, I want to pick an upset here … but Detroit’s just awful. Redskins 26, Lions 17
JENNIFER: REDSKINS

ARIZONA at CAROLINA
LINE: Panthers by 4.5
BILLY: Carolina looks unstoppable at times (at home). Arizona’s riding high … why so many tough games this week? Panthers 30, Cardinals 27
JENNIFER: PANTHERS

SAN DIEGO at NEW ORLEANS
LINE: Chargers by 3
BILLY: This isn’t as hard as it looks. New Orleans is a different team at home, even if “home” is London. Saints 37, Chargers 20
JENNIFER: SAINTS

TAMPA BAY at DALLAS
LINE: Cowboys by 2.5
BILLY: Repeat after me … Dallas is not a bad team. They get it together this week. Cowboys 21, Bucs 14
JENNIFER: BUCS

CINCINNATI at HOUSTON
LINE: Texans by 9.5
BILLY: Alright Greg … they better not let me down. Texans 28, Bengals 20
JENNIFER: TEXANS

CLEVELAND at JACKSONVILLE
LINE: Jags by 7
BILLY: Hmmm. Hmm. Hmmmmmm. Uhhhh. Hmmmm. Jags 13, Browns 10
JENNIFER: JAGS

NY GIANTS at PITTSBURGH
LINE: Steelers by 3
BILLY: One of the few times I’ll be a raging Steelers fan. Steelers 24, Giants 20
JENNIFER: Good game…too tough to call. GIGANTES.

SEATTLE at SAN FRANSISCO
LINE: 49ers by 5
BILLY: I’m a year late in my Seattle Sucks campaign .. but they really do suck this year. 49ers 26, Seahawks 20
JENNIFER: NINERS

INDIANAPOLIS at TENNESSEE
LINE: Titans by 4
BILLY: SO much is riding on this game. If Tennessee wins it, they’re for real-for real. I think they’re pretty for real. Titans 29, Colts 20
JENNIFER: TITANS

Leave a Reply

