NFL PICKS: Week 2

Well, Jennifer was in Atlanta for three days this week, we got a new puppy and we’ve both worked our tails off … hence, you’re getting the Week 2 NFL picks just hours before the game.
But hey, at least it’s BEFORE the game, right?
We tied last week, both going 10-6 after splitting the only two games we picked differently on. This week, though, I think we’ll have more variety in the picks … lot of close games out there.

From Jennifer: Things I Learned From Week 1:
1. Don’t count out the rookies this year.
2. If I’m going to pick a bird to beat a tiger in the wild, I might
as well pick it to win on a football field, too.
3. I’d never done it before and I won’t do it again…pick a team
based on uniforms or team colors.
4. Brett Favre is awesome anywhere.
5. I still love the Packers.

LAST WEEK:
Billy (straight up): 10-6
Jennifer (straight up): 10-6
Billy (against the line): 7-9

On to the picks:

PACKERS AT LIONS
LINE: Packers by 3
BILLY’S PICK: I thought Aaron Rodgers and the Packers looked great in Week 1 against the Vikings … and I thought Detroit blew a stinky one against Atlanta. But this is the NFL. I’ve learned in doing these picks that crazy things happen. The Packers seem to struggle in Detroit for whatever reason … and Detroit is desperate already. Lions 31, Packers 27
JENNIFER’S PICK: Welcome to the NFL, Aaron Rodgers. You pulled out a
win over the Vikes last week and now you’re going to have to live up to higher expectations. Good luck. Go Pack! Go Pack! Go Pack! PACKERS.

DOLPHINS AT CARDINALS
LINE: Cardinals by 6.5
BILLY’S PICK: Miami isn’t going to be a 1-15 team this year, and Arizona isn’t going to be 11-5. This game will be closer than a lot of people expect. Cardinals 23, Dolphins 21
JENNIFER’S PICK: Who cares? DOLPHINS.

BEARS AT PANTHERS
LINE: Panthers by 3
BILLY’S PICK: Two teams that pulled off improbable upsets in Week 1 look to really get their season going with 2-0 starts. Carolina looks rejuvenated with Jake Delhomme, while Chicago may not be the god-awful offense with Matt Forte. I go with Carolina simply because they’re at home, and Chicago won’t like the 95-degree heat today. Panthers 20, Bears 13
JENNIFER’S PICK: Though Billy and I both picked the Panthers to lose last week, we were rooting for them to win on gameday. I think they handle the Bears easily. PANTHERS.

TITANS AT BENGALS
LINE: Bengals by 1.5
BILLY’S PICK: I suppose the Bengals are favored because of the Vince Young situtation, but I think Tennessee’s better off with Kerry Collins this week. Titans in a laugher … Titans 33, Bengals 17
JENNIFER’S PICK: The Bengals couldn’t pull it out over the Ravens and the Titans looked decent last week. TITANS.

COLTS AT VIKINGS
LINE: Colts by 1.5
BILLY’S PICK: Minnesota just doesn’t have the quarterback to keep up with Peyton, who has something to prove after his worst outing in years last week. Colts 35, Vikings 20
JENNIFER’S PICK: Ouch. Last weekend’s game was painful to watch. Peyton is obviously rusty, but I think the Colts pull out the W anyway. COLTS.

BILLS AT JAGUARS
LINE: Jaguars by 5.5
BILLY’S PICK: I’m torn on this one. I want Buffalo to go 2-0 … I just don’t think they have it this week. Grrr. Jaguars 26, Bills 24
JENNIFER’S PICK: Last week’s loss by the Jags to the Titans was a fluke…either that or the Jags aren’t going to live up to the hype this season. JAGS.

RAIDERS AT CHIEFS
LINE: Chiefs by 3.5
BILLY’S PICK: Oakland looked terrible last week. Jamarcus Russell will be a bust. Chiefs 27, Raiders 14
JENNIFER’S PICK: I really hope this isn’t one of the televised game options Sunday. RAIDERS.

PATRIOTS AT JETS
LINE: Jets by 1.5
BILLY’S PICK: I really want to say the Patriots come out and win it for Brady, throwing a punch to the gut for the Favre lovers in NY … but I can’t see it happening. I just can’t. Jets 24, Patriots 10
JENNIFER’S PICK: Ooh. Without Brady, this pick is much easier to make. Go Jets. Go Jets. Go Jets. JETS.

STEELERS AT BROWNS
LINE: Steelers by 6
BILLY’S PICK: Not sure why Pittsburgh is favored by a touchdown IN Cleveland. I think the Browns pull the stunner. Browns 30, Steelers 23
JENNIFER’S PICK: The Browns are laughable. I mean, they can’t even beat the Cowboys for crying out loud. STEELERS.

CHARGERS AT BRONCOS
LINE: Chargers by 1
BILLY’S PICK: San Diego won’t start 0-2 this year. They’re too good. Chargers 28, Broncos 24
JENNIFER’S PICK: CHARGERS? I’m making a mistake, right?

49ERS AT SEAHAWKS
LINE: Seahawks by 7
BILLY’S PICK: Seattle finally lived up to my billing as the worst team ever last week. That said, they win at home against San Fran. Seahawks 17, 49ers 7
JENNIFER’S PICK: Don’t burn me again this week, Hawks. SEAHAWKS.

FALCONS AT BUCS
LINE: Bucs by 7
BILLY’S PICK: I have a lot riding on this game … namely, it’s my suicide pick this week, meaning Tampa’s gotta win. Bucs 30, Falcons 14
JENNIFER’S PICK: Hmm…this may seem like an easy pick, but I don’t know. According to Billy, history says a rookie QB in his first start on the road has a slim chance of winning. Fine. BUCS.

GIANTS AT RAMS
LINE: Giants by 8.5
BILLY’S PICK: All the signs point toward a letdown for the Giants, but it’s not going to happen. St. Louis is too bad, and New York’s had 10 days to prepare. Giants 35, Rams 10
JENNIFER’S PICK: GIGANTES. By a mile.

SAINTS AT REDSKINS
LINE: Even
BILLY’S PICK: Something’s not clicking with Washington’s offense early on in the Jim Zorn era. New Orleans, meanwhile, is definitely clicking. Saints 27, Redskins 14
JENNIFER’S PICK: Another week, another hurricane. SAINTS.

EAGLES AT COWBOYS
LINE: Dallas by 7
BILLY’S PICK: Not sure why Dallas is a touchdown favorite. But who am I to argue? Cowboys 38, Eagles 23
JENNIFER’S PICK: I think it’s hilarious that Billy has been worrying about this game all week. It’s like he does it so that if they lose, he’s not so disappointed and can claim to have known it all along. Somehow I think it eases the pain. Still, I think the Boys will pull through. Unfortunately. COWBOYS.

Leave a Reply

