On my iPod: Siamese Dream

Siamese Dream

If you go to the Wikipedia page for Smashing Pumpkins’ second studio album, “Siamese Dream,” you’ll learn that the band went through nervous breakdowns, infighting and a lot of other distractions. Lead singer Billy Corgan would play guitarist James Iha and bassist D’Arcy Wretzky’s parts much to their dismay and drummer Jimmy Chamberlin would leave the studio for days to go on drug binges.
Ahhh, sounds like the making of a “Behind the Music” to me.

Well, the result, to me, was one of the Top 5 greatest rock albums of the 90s. I put “Siamese Dream” up there with Radiohead’s “OK Computer,” Pearl Jam’s “Yield,” Live’s “Throwing Copper” and Alice In Chains’ “Jar of Flies,” … all my personal favorites from the flannel era.
It was released in 93, in the middle of the “grunge” era, but to me, this album’s more of a mix of grunge, 70s arena rock and stuff I’ve not heard before or since. It’s an album full of heavy, layered guitars and a great mix of speaker blasting riffs and light “pings,” for lack of a better word.

Songs like “Cherub Rock,” “Today,” and “Disarm” made the Billboard charts, but my favorites include “Hummer,” “Soma” and “Rocket.” There isn’t a bad song in the bunch … and it was one of the few albums I’d just play — many times falling asleep to it in my college dorm room. Ahhh, memories.
Below are a few YouTube clips … their videos kinda stunk at the time, but then again, who cares about the videos?

Soma (Live)

Rocket

Leave a Reply

