My musical guilty pleasures

Why am I about to do this?
Why am I about to completely open myself up for ridicule? Why am I about to share my Top 5 musical guilty pleasures when, when it comes down to it, it’s nobody’s business and I could save face by not doing so?
I suppose it’s because I’m here to entertain you. I’m nothing but your yuck monkey, and I thrive off your laughs.
Without further ado, and before I change my mind, here are my Top 5 musical guilty pleasures. If you want to make me feel better, you’ll add your own.

1. Justin Timberlake
Note, I in no way like N’Sync, nor do I care much for anything this guy did before his last album.
But my wife did purchase the album “FutureSex/LoveSounds,” and I will admit it right here, I’ve listened to it without her around. I get the song “LoveStoned” stuck in my head often.
There, I’ve admitted it. I’m a fan. I’m throwing Jonathan Owens under the bus, too. He’s a fan. Ha.
It gets worse.

2. Ace of Base
I have no reason to explain it, other than when I got to college at Stephen F. Austin State University in the fall of 1994, there was really only one radio station that didn’t play country (the rock stations out of Shreveport, La. didn’t always come in well either). It was a Top 40 station, and for some reason, they always played Ace of Base.
“The Sign,” “Beautiful Life,” “All That She Wants” are all too catchy for their own good.
I hate that I like it. I really do.

3. Garth Brooks
Growing up in a country town and going to a country high school in the early 1990s, I couldn’t help but hear Garth Brooks ALL THE TIME. “The Dance” played at my prom. “Friends in Low Places” was on every radio station (country and pop). He had that special on NBC.
He was everywhere, and I couldn’t escape him.
And while I managed to continue to dislike country music throughout high school, I developed a liking toward Brooks. Mind you, I enjoy “classic” country, like Hank Williams Sr. and Johnny Cash, but anything from Reba McIntyre, Brooks and Dunn or Alan Jackson makes me ill.
I’m not sure why Garth was any different. He just was.

4. Cinderella
I’d like to forget the era of the 80s hair band, and for the most part, I have.
Motley Crue was once cool, but listening to them now, they were kind of a joke. Same goes for Poison, Quiet Riot and a number of other so-called “heavy metal” bands from that era.
Perhaps the most Aqua-Netted glam band of the bunch was Cinderella, but for some reason, I chose them as “my band” as a 1980s tween.
I’ve heard a few songs on classic rock stations recently, and I’ll admit they sound dated, but I’m not totally turned off by them.
You may remember “Shake Me,” “Nobody’s Fool,” and “Somebody Save Me” if you’re a fan of that era. And who could forget the ballad “Don’t know what you got (till it’s gone)”
Ahhh, the 80s.
Honorable mention for 80s hair bands that didn’t totally suck: Ratt … uhm, that’s about it.

5. Paris Combo
I actually don’t feel bad at all about liking this band, and if anybody wants to poke fun at me for liking French jazz, go for it.
And while you’re at it, poke fun at the wife too, because she’s a fan as well.
We saw them at Festival Internationale in Lafayette, La., about 8-9 years ago, and they blew me away. We immediately bought the CD, and while I haven’t heard them much in the states (they were actually playing the CD at a restaurant in Dallas once), I hear they’re pretty big in France.
Here’s a sample of their music. I don’t understand a word, but I can pretty much sing along (with a lot of blah, blah, blahs thrown in).

9 thoughts on “My musical guilty pleasures

  1. I’m not reading your blog anymore.

    Just kidding.

    Somebody shoot me. I used to like Bourgeois Tagg and “Waiting for the Worm to Turn.” But it was all rock and metal in front of my friends.

    No guilt at all in my fondness for bluegrass, though I don’t think I have one friend that shares it.

  2. I like how Billy dragged me into this, too. At lunch today he asked me if I could name his top 5 as I had not yet read his blog. I immediately guess Justin and then was stumped. I can’t believe I didn’t guess Ace of Base. It’s one of those things in our marriage that we will never agree on.

  3. It could be in our blood. I also just discovered that i enjoy JT. As for the rest of them…. yea, I like them also. If you ever have time to do the research there is a Garth Brooks in our family tree. Maybe that is why he is the only country we like. Maybe we were brain-washed in country-Pickton.

  4. You’d think MJ would make it, but the title of this should have been “Things I should keep to myself.” Scary! I don’t know if I’ll be caught alone in the woods with you, again!

  5. I, too like JT. And the scary thing is I kinda like Mylie Cyrus – you know Hannah Montana. Can you tell my kids rule the tv?

    Now Cinderella really. I can see not like quite riiot but did you forget the Scorpions? I have to say I like Garth Brooks too. But my faves were :
    When in Rome while in college. Love them still.
    Depeche Mode – the early stuff.
    And the sad one is Kate Bush – yeah really wierd music.
    But the worst one is – Violent Femmes. Yes I still listen to them and it just isn’t quite the same to hear your kids singing those smutty songs around the house.

    Oh well music is cool…all of it – well except blue grass. Just can’t get that at all 🙂

Leave a Reply

